Winter Storm Warning Issued For Louisville & Southern Indiana

(Louisville, KY) - More snow is now expected in the Louisville area for late Saturday night and early Sunday morning.

The National Weather Service has added Jefferson County and the tier of Kentucky counties along the Ohio River to the Winter Storm Warning that already included all of Southern Indiana.

 

Up to 4 to 6 inches of snow is forecasted in the Winter Storm Warning area.  Here is the full advisory from the National Weather Service.

...WINTER STORM WARNING IN EFFECT FROM 4 PM EST / 3 PM CST SATURDAY AFTERNOON TO 7 AM EST / 6 AM CST SUNDAY...* WHAT...Heavy snow expected. Total snow accumulations of 4 to 6  inches expected. Localized higher snowfall amounts are possible.  Winds gusting as high as 40 mph leading to reduced visibilities  and blowing and drifting of snow.* WHERE...All of southern Indiana and portions of north central  Kentucky.* WHEN...From 4 PM EST /3 PM CST/ this afternoon to 7 AM EST /6  AM CST/ Sunday.* ADDITIONAL DETAILS...Travel this evening and overnight will  become extremely hazardous. Due to the heavy snowfall expected  over a rather short period of time, some roads may become  impassable for a time.

Our partners at WLKY are calling for 3 to 6 inches of snow accumulation in the Louisville area with heavier accumulations possible north of the city.

 

Keep it on NewsRadio 840 WHAS, whas.com, Twitter and Facebook for updates.

Photo Credit: Getty Images

title

Content Goes Here